Please note that the UTsend system will automatically reboot following nightly patches, when they occur. The timings for these reboots will be between 4 AM to 5 AM ET. The system can be expected to be down for approximately 15 minutes.
Students who aren't employed by the university aren't granted full access to UTsend's features. They are blocked from signing in. They can receive and reply to messages and upload items into file requests, but they can't create their own via UTsend.
They should be made aware that when accessing UTsend, they need a U of T staff or faculty member to send a file request link to them to access the platform.
Alternatively, OneDrive or SharePoint can be used to work with students and your needs.
For items uploaded to file requests, the maximum number of downloads per recipient is three. Afterwards, the files are deleted. To access the files again, a new file request must be created for re-uploading.
Alternatively, use an L4 SharePoint site to host file requests, as there's unlimited downloading and link expiration is customizable.
Files uploaded to UTsend for file requests are automatically deleted after 14 days or when the three download limit is reached; whichever comes first.
Alternatively, use an L4 SharePoint site to avoid items being deleted after a certain amount of days.
After accessing a file request link and sending off files, the link will expire. If a user wants to upload more files later, a new file request must be created for them to use.
Alternatively, use an L4 SharePoint site to generate a reusable file request link.
Due to security and space limitations, messages composed in UTsend and their attachments expires 30 days from its creation by default. At the time of message creation, the expiration can be customized.
When composing a message, only one recipient or group can be listed in the To field. If you need to send the same message to several recipients, separate, individual messages must be composed.
Alternatively, use Outlook or an L4 SharePoint site to send one message to multiple recipients.
A total of 29 GB per message.
Alternatively, use an L4 SharePoint site to host larger content.
UTsend isn't intended for signing in and viewing into the contents of others' accounts. For temporary access, submit a request. Approval (i.e. from the other user or a manager) will need to be obtained before proceeding.
To collaborate on documents with multiple colleagues seamlessly, use an L4 SharePoint site.
No. This system won't save drafts composed within it; if you exit the Message page, all your text and attachments will be lost and unrecoverable. You can write and save drafts elsewhere (i.e. Word, OneDrive, etc.).